test

3rd GPU for Area 51 R2

Piffdaddy069

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to PC gaming but so far I absolutely love my Alienware area 51 R2. No complaints here. So I'm writing today to get some input about putting in a third gtx 980 into my rig. my question is this, I have the 5820k processor in there right now, everyone keeps telling me to get a newer processor for a third card but right now, not really an option I'm willing to spend money on. I got this third gtx 980 for free from my work and id really love to put it into my system. I would upgrade the PSU to 1200w as well from the 850w in there now. Can my processor run 3 cards at once running it at /8x/8x/8x/ since it only has 28 lanes as oppose to the 40 you would get from the processors above? I don't know much about the mobo itself so I'm seeking help from people who own alien wares and might be able to give me more knowledge about this. My main goal is to have a 3 way SLI in this badass machine. Thanks for all of your help in advance.

Kanes_Inferno

I'm wondering about this myself. I don't have an Area 51 yet but was looking at getting one with the 5820K in it. I've heard it can't do a three way SLI. I guess my question is does that also mean it can't do 2 way SLI and a 3rd card for physx? To mean that would be amazing to have two and a 3rd dedicated for physx. Wondering before I purchase, thanks.

Piffdaddy069

I can confirm that you may run a third card strictly dedicated the PhysX. just make sure that your power supply unit meets the needs of running 3 cards. I would recommend 1000 watts or above depending on wether you see a need to overclock or not

Kanes_Inferno

You were able to get this up and running with 2 way SLI and one for Physx? Can you post a screen shot of this working? Also, how did you get it set up to work properly?