test

Adding an additional HDD

DeRon1

Hello my friends its me again and I have a Query for our resident experts;)

If you noticed i have updated my profile about the beast i hope to receive really soon! Because I found it cost effective not to Buy the additional HDD from Dell I Purchased myself a 500GB seagate monentus 7200RPM for very very cheap! My problem is I have heard how too and you tubed the installation process! I must tell you that I am no closer to understanding this than I were b4 i bought the HDD.:( So Is there anyone here that can break down this process for me in a way that a noob like myself can understand! I have some tech knowledge just not a tremendous amount sooz i'm looking for install for Dummies :) ;)

Thanks Again m8's

" If You Build It They Will Come"

AeonSoul

I installed an SSD myself, the process is not much different. It's kind of late right now, but tomorrow I'll break it down for you. It's easier than it seems.

DeRon1

I have a pretty good idea of how to change them out but my concerns are with the 0 raid and 1 raid settings and how to! and is it truly necessary to operate in those configurations. can I just use my 2nd HDD as a slave to the 1st HDD.

I have kills disk and replace plus set up... win7 dual booted alongside ultimate edition 3.4 on my hp dv7 plus changed out the Hdd on this Acer but never worked with the double Hdd scenario! the last thing i want to do is screw my beast up b4 I Can rip and run!

DeRon1

Thanks AeonSoul! ;) My Rig is still poking around at Dell in Production right now "hopefully here this week :(" So i have time to sit back and take notes. I'll be here :) ;0

AeonSoul

Well if you want to set up a RAID configuration I can't help you there, but you can just plug in a second hard drive and use it as a storage without issues. You just need to plug it in and format it once the machine is up and running.