Area 51 R2 Power Supply Upgrade?

Feb 14, 2018
Hello and thankyou. I am no expert so I have some concerns I was hoping to get some feedback on. I am having some issues like random reboots that are BSOD screens. I have replaced everything except the mobo. I have added many things like dual 1080ti cards and usb add in card and nvme storage card and 19 usb ports are full. (thanks to VR)

I want to upgrade my PSU from the 850w to a 1500w which is recommended by Dell and many other PSU calculators and I think maybe I have a PSU shortage. Its weird if I do because I get complete random BSOD event 41 errors and it happens mid game and mostly during idle at night. I stress test it and I dont get it but who knows...

My pc is just over a year old and I guess I missed the train because now we are on R6 or something and I want a x299 board and bigger CPU eventually soon and was hoping to buy a Corsair AX1500i 1500w PSU and put it in my Area 51 R2 that way I can use this PSU for when I build or buy my next PC.

My question is will the Corsair AX1500i connect to my R2? I mean I know it will fit but I see that Dell PSU and Corsair PSU have different connections and I do not know if it will connect to my board and other components? If I had to guess I would say that I would just need to use all the cables that come with the Corsair PSU and swap out the weird Dell cables correct? Like for example the Dell cords for the motherboard are not the standard 24 pin that you see on all others, they are 6 pins that connect to the actual PSU. In fact all the ports on the Dell PSU are 6 pins. There are no 24 pin ATX at all. Also all the Dell cables are like all labeled to go in exactly in correct spot. I would think as long as it plugs into the PSU it is fine right? Maybe I should just buy a Dell 1500w PSU which are almost same price I just didnt want to have to buy another one in a few years as I would have same problem if I was to build my own PC.