test

Area 51 R2 Upgraded with MSI z490 Ace mobo and 10th Gen i9

aliensocal

Hi All,
Wanted to share my recent upgrade experience with you. First, I am a complete newbie when it comes to building computers from scratch. Forum member @eg1122 provided tons of guidance and answered my questions whenever I got stuck, which was often! I could not have done it without his help! I also had help from a friend who had done this a couple of times many years ago.

Reason for upgrade:
My A51-R2 had some sort of mobo failure, and refused to boot up.
About me:
I am not a gamer, and do not particularly care about lighting etc, I use the computer as a developer, for word processing, and other day to day activities.
So whyAlienware?
I love their reliability, the build quality and the way the cables are neatly laid out inside the case. Also, the fact that I could put 3x 2TB hdd's in a RAID5 for redundancy. Of course, RAID5 became a problem when the machine crashed! I had to find a way to recover the data without paying an arm and a leg!
RAID5 data recovery:
We used Zero Assumption recovery software. It was one of the easiest to use, did not require input of RAID5 config info, showed available files, and, best of all, at $69.95 it came with a 30-day money back guarantee. It worked! [We also tried Disk Internals which appeared to work, but their price was $249].

Upgrade Details:
Following in @eg1122's footsteps, I used the same mobo and cpu
mobo: MSI z490 ACE (Could have used cheaper msi tomahawk, but black friday price was good and I wanted wireless LAN)
CPU: Intel Core i9-10900K Desktop Processor 10 Cores up to 5.3 GHz Unlocked LGA1200
Fans: 4x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM, 1x Noctua NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM. Two A12x25 used as case intake fans; the NF-P12 was used to blow air out of the case.
AIO Cooler: Corsair H80i v2 - Replaced the Corsair fans with 2 NF-A12x25.
GPU: Used existing 2x Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 GPUs