test

aurora r4 ALX merory max support

mastsh

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
3
i like to upgrade to corsair vengeance 32gb 2133 mhz for my aurora r4. I want to make sure it will be compatible with my rig, i have a i7 3820 . i heard that is the max for the aurora but i want to make sure thank you in advance.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
163
I had trouble with Corsair memory in my R4..
I installed it and the PC wouldn't even boot up/POST.

Ended up getting G.Skill 32GB which seemed to work.

Also Win7 Home only recognises up to 16GB RAM anyway - u need Win 7/8 Pro for the whole 32GB to be used..

Hope this helps
 

mastsh

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
3
Thanks you very much for your reply. I have ultimate so no problem with that. thanks for the advice I will check that

2
 

stupreme

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
61
Hi Guy's here's a bit of advice for you - The Aurora R4 does NOT support (4x8gb)32Gb@2133mhz . It will support (4x8gb)32Gb@1600mhz.
The Aurora R4 will support a Maximum of (4x4gb)16gb@2133mhz or (4x2gb)8gb@2133mhz

Check this
Click on memory
ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-prod...sk/alienware-aurora-r4_User's Guide_en-us.pdf
 

Ronsan

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
21
Hi Guy's here's a bit of advice for you - The Aurora R4 does NOT support (4x8gb)32Gb@2133mhz . It will support (4x8gb)32Gb@1600mhz.
The Aurora R4 will support a Maximum of (4x4gb)16gb@2133mhz or (4x2gb)8gb@2133mhz

Check this
Click on memory
ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-prod...sk/alienware-aurora-r4_User's Guide_en-us.pdf

I've been looking onto more ram also.

Thanks for the link and info but when I go to the Dell website and click on the upgrade tab it gives me recommended options along with this message,

Maximum Memory: 24576 MB (1067 MHz and 1333 MHz) or 12288 MB (1600 MHz XMP)
Number Of Slots: 6

Why does the PDF Manual say 4 slots?

And does the "recommended" ram from the website just for liability sake?

Is there a difference in the MOBO between an Aurora R4 X79 ALX and regular Aurora R4?
 

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,905
Watch out with Corsair memory in your R4. Caused major BSOD's in mine. Had to go back to the standard Dell memory. Had no problems with it in my older Aurora's though.
 

stupreme

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
61
I've been looking onto more ram also.

Thanks for the link and info but when I go to the Dell website and click on the upgrade tab it gives me recommended options along with this message,

Maximum Memory: 24576 MB (1067 MHz and 1333 MHz) or 12288 MB (1600 MHz XMP)
Number Of Slots: 6

Why does the PDF Manual say 4 slots?

And does the "recommended" ram from the website just for liability sake?

Is there a difference in the MOBO between an Aurora R4 X79 ALX and regular Aurora R4?

The Aurora R4 and ALX Version share the same mobo which has 4 slots, If you go on the dell web site and create an Aurora you will see you can only choose 4 rams , if you look at all the pictures people have put up on this site you can see only 4 slots - the web page must have a glitch
 

Ronsan

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
21
The Aurora R4 and ALX Version share the same mobo which has 4 slots, If you go on the dell web site and create an Aurora you will see you can only choose 4 rams , if you look at all the pictures people have put up on this site you can see only 4 slots - the web page must have a glitch


Thanks for the reply, I only see 4 slots in mine also.


Hi Guy's here's a bit of advice for you - The Aurora R4 does NOT support (4x8gb)32Gb@2133mhz . It will support (4x8gb)32Gb@1600mhz.
The Aurora R4 will support a Maximum of (4x4gb)16gb@2133mhz or (4x2gb)8gb@2133mhz

Check this
Click on memory
ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-prod...sk/alienware-aurora-r4_User's Guide_en-us.pdf


So this, (4x8gb)32Gb@1600mhz, is the magic number we are looking for to max out the ram on our Aurora R4?


How do I find out what latency my current ram has now? Doesn't it matter?


Sorry mastsh, wasn't my intention to hijack your thread man. I've been real curious about the subject too.
 
Last edited:

stupreme

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
61
These are the magic numbers to max out the ram
(4x8gb)32Gb@1600mhz or
(4x4gb)16Gb@2133mhz

IMOH I think 16gb@2133 is better - if you went with 32gb your PC would never ever use it all, it's complete overkill, but if that's what you want then go 4 it :)

you can download CPU Z to see your latency's
 

mastsh

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
3
Thanks for the reply, I only see 4 slots in mine also.





So this, (4x8gb)32Gb@1600mhz, is the magic number we are looking for to max out the ram on our Aurora R4?


How do I find out what latency my current ram has now? Doesn't it matter?


Sorry mastsh, wasn't my intention to hijack your thread man. I've been real curious about the subject too.

Dont worry about it. Thank you all for the info now I know what to do

2
 
Top