test

Battlefield low FPS

hi there :)
I have an m14x r2 with a 2.3ghz i7, 8 gb of ram and 2gb nvidia gt650m
I play maxed on every game I installed (crysis 2, borderlands 2, NFS MW ecc) but when I start playing battlefield the game starts to lag or works "less better" than the others and i can't really get why...
please help :)

MattyB

BF3 will seriously tax GPU's. Have you tried bringing the settings down a bit and turning off AA? I found that reducing the settings on BF3 didn't really make it look that much worse but it helped the performance.

Make sure you're Nvidia driver is a recent one too. BF3 was not good on the Dell version of the Nvidia driver when I started playing it. Make sure you get it straight from Nvidia.

yikes81

I find that i can keep the settings on high if i reduce the resolution.
Dropping it a couple of bars down should put a little less strain on the GPU.

Other than that, I found the latest version of Nvidia drivers not the greatest. I rolled back one version and all was ok.

R: Battlefield low FPS

Thanks a lot
I will downgrade the graphics settings in the Game
Quite annoyed that my m14x istruzioni not able to fully support battlefield. ..

Inviato dal mio GT-I9300 con Tapatalk 2

grouchomarxx

It's not that your laptop doesn't "support" the game, AA (anti aliasing) since it's inception has been the killer of performance. Even high-end machines will drop in frame rate if to many settings have been turned off. A good way to prevent performance lowering settings is to know which settings affect games more the others. From my 15 years of experience of gaming and being in the computer performance world I have found the following settings are almost always responsible for low frame rates.

Lower Frame Rates
1. Anti Aliasing
2. Post processing effects (HDR rendering, bloom (not so much anymore), per vertex lighting)
3. High quality shadows (can makes certain games unplayable if set to high)