Best Video Card?

Ecnad

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
11
My X51r1 has a GTX 555 card in it. What's my best upgrade option for a fast stable card given our power limitations?
 

Ecnad

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
11
Was looking at a 760 today. Only 30watts more than my stock card so should be fine.
 

Mikeb619

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2013
Messages
3
just picked up an EVGA GTX670 FTW signature 2 2g card and an i7-i3770... cant wait to put them in!

make sure u have the 330w PSU instead of the 240w
 

sway

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
676
just picked up an EVGA GTX670 FTW signature 2 2g card and an i7-i3770... cant wait to put them in!

make sure u have the 330w PSU instead of the 240w

So you got the card that blows heat back into the pc? That' not a good idea. That's why they use the blower gpu type to blow the heat out of the case. I had the sapphire 7850 before I got my 670, it was extremely toasty in my x51. Processor was getting past 90c, and that's after better paste.

tappin from the Nexus 4
 

sway

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
676
The EVGA GTX 670 2GB EDITION is better the GTX 760 by just a little bit :)

Actually the 760 is just a 670 replacement, they are identical in almost every way. That said, performance is also identical. These new cards oc better, which give them more of a performance advantage.

tappin from the Nexus 4
 

mf9

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
48
Are there any blower type cards that are above 2gb? I've been looking for a GTX 760 and can only find this type of card with 2gb and not 4gb.

Hence I'm going for a an MSI 760 GTX 2gb and 330 watt power supply below:

http://amzn.to/177UEJT
 

bbond007

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
38
Actually the 760 is just a 670 replacement, they are identical in almost every way. That said, performance is also identical. These new cards oc better, which give them more of a performance advantage.

tappin from the Nexus 4

Actually, its the same core with a slightly higher clock but with 25% of the shaders disabled. It uses slightly more power and goes slightly slower then a 670. Its slightly faster than a 660 TI which is also the same core with all shaders enabled paired to a slower memory bus...

In an x51 I would imagine a 660TI might be faster than a 760 because of more overclock potential.
 

sway

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
676
Actually, its the same core with a slightly higher clock but with 25% of the shaders disabled. It uses slightly more power and goes slightly slower then a 670. Its slightly faster than a 660 TI which is also the same core with all shaders enabled paired to a slower memory bus...

In an x51 I would imagine a 660TI might be faster than a 760 because of more overclock potential.

The memory bus on a 760 is 256bit vs the 660 192bit, that alone gives the 760 an advantage over the 660ti, and will oc way better. The 760 is insanely close to the 670 depending on which card you go with. Ive seen benches put the 760 well above a 670. The memory bandwidth alone is worth getting the 760 over the neutered 660ti.

tappin from the Nexus 4
 
Last edited:

bbond007

Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
38
The memory bus on a 760 is 256bit vs the 660 192bit, that alone gives the 760 an advantage over the 660ti, and will oc way better. The 760 is insanely close to the 670 depending on which card you go with. Ive seen benches put the 760 well above a 670. The memory bandwidth alone is worth getting the 760 over the neutered 660ti.

tappin from the Nexus 4

I have a 660 TI in my x51. I know I can boost the CPU +100mhz and memory +400mhz no sweat. I also have an SSD in addition to the HD.

I know 760 can overclock. I have another machine with 2 760s in SLI. My 760 have ASIC quality of 80% andf 86%. They overclock too :)

Before I got the second 760, the x51 and the other machine were VERY close with Final Fantasy Benchmark and Metro LL and a few others.

I have heard of people having to down-clock their 760 otherwise their x51 r1 reboots under load. Let alone overclocking :) maybe that is why Dell uses 1.5gb version of the 760.
 
Last edited:

mf9

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
48
I have heard of people having to down-clock their 760 otherwise their x51 r1 reboots under load. Let alone overclocking :) maybe that is why Dell uses 1.5gb version of the 760.

Yes I understand the r1 has less available power than the r2. On the UK Alienware website they're now offering a 760 Ti 2GB for a staggering £200 extra instead of the 760 GTX 1.5 GB !
 

sway

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
676
I used a 4gb 670ftw in my x51 without any problems, and overclocked it. Never had any problems, so don't see a problem with using a 760.

tappin from the Nexus 4
 

mf9

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
48
I got my MSI 760 GTX 2gb today for my R2, what with my 330w ps still on it's way I tested the 760 against my 240w ps and to my surprise it worked. After an hour of testing it against various games it did eventually trip the power supply, so I've scaled down the power for now in MSI Afterburner till the 330w turns up.

Anyway Battlefield 3 runs at 60 fps + on Ultra and Crysis 3 30 fps + on High so not too shabby. The fan noise is noticeable however when the game is in a full flow and and max GPU temps run at about 89c ( min 40c-50c ), although the sound of the game soon drowns it out.

I was also surprised how small the 645 GTX I replaced was against the 760:

14kee77.jpg
 
Last edited:

sway

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
676
I got my MSI 760 GTX 2gb today for my R2, what with my 330w ps still on it's way I tested the 760 against my 240w ps and to my surprise it worked. After an hour of testing it against various games it did eventually trip the power supply, so I've scaled down the power for now in MSI Afterburner till the 330w turns up.

Anyway Battlefield 3 runs at 60 fps + on Ultra and Crysis 3 30 fps + on High so not too shabby. The fan noise is noticeable however when the game is in a full flow and and max GPU temps run at about 89c ( min 40c-50c ), although the sound of the game soon drowns it out.

I was also surprised how small the 645 GTX I replaced was against the 760:

14kee77.jpg

Oh yeah much better

tappin from the Nexus 4
 
Top