test

Can't get upgraded x51 R2 to run 16GB Ram at 1600mhz

LordSmooth

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
3
Hi, I recently purchased an x51 R2 Alienware with an Intel Core i5 4440 processor (3.1Ghz, Haswell) holding 8GB Ram.

I upgraded the 2x4GB of ram with 2x8GB ram (KHX1600C10D3B1k2/16G) (16GB DDR3 1600 CL 10 240-pin).

The Alienware Bios and 3dMark show that the memory is only running at 1333 mhz instead of the stated 1600 mhz.

I know that Dell does not officially support 16GB for this Haswell model. But there has got to be a way to get this memory running at the correct speed without damaging the computer, right? Or am I stuck at 1333 mhz?

I see no options in the Alienware A04 to adjust the memory settings. Perhaps the Intel XTU extreme tuning utility would help? But this is not a machine for overclocking -- I don't want to destroy it.

Thanks.
 

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,961
Hi. Try running CPU-Z. Have a look under the memory tab. If it shows that its running at 800 then you're doing good since DDR means Double data rate so 800 is actually 1600.
I don't think 3DMark shows the correct speeds. It never has with my memory.
 

LordSmooth

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
3
Thanks for the tip MattyB.

I just tried CPU-Z -- it seems the DRAM is hovering at around 665.6 Mhz which is close to 1333 instead of the 1600 I am looking to get.

Maybe Kingston plug and play memory would work but I assume it's no guarantee and it's also hassle to return the memory I just put in, so trying to figure this out.

I'm posting some of the stats below:


Chipset
Northbridge Intel Haswell rev. 06
Southbridge Intel H87 rev. C1
Graphic Interface PCI-Express
PCI-E Link Width x16
PCI-E Max Link Width x16
Memory Type DDR3
Memory Size 16 GBytes
Channels Dual
Memory Frequency 665.5 MHz (1:5)
CAS# latency (CL) 9.0
RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD) 9
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 9
Cycle Time (tRAS) 24
Row Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC) 174
Command Rate (CR) 1T
Uncore Frequency 3194.1 MHz

Memory SPD
DIMM # 1
SMBus address 0x50
Memory type DDR3
Module format UDIMM
Manufacturer (ID) Kingston (7F98000000000000)
Size 8192 MBytes
Max bandwidth PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
Part number KHX1600C10D3/8GX
Manufacturing date Week 05/Year 14
Number of banks 8
Nominal Voltage 1.50 Volts
EPP no
XMP yes
XMP revision 1.3
AMP no
JEDEC timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
JEDEC #1 6.0-6-6-17-23 @ 457 MHz
JEDEC #2 7.0-7-7-20-27 @ 533 MHz
JEDEC #3 8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 609 MHz
JEDEC #4 9.0-9-9-25-34 @ 685 MHz
XMP profile XMP-1600
Specification PC3-12800
Voltage level 1.500 Volts
Min Cycle time 1.250 ns (800 MHz)
Max CL 10.0
Min tRP 12.50 ns
Min tRCD 12.50 ns
Min tWR 15.00 ns
Min tRAS 33.75 ns
Min tRC 45.00 ns
Min tRFC 260.00 ns
Min tRTP 7.50 ns
Min tRRD 6.00 ns
XMP timings table CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC-CR @ frequency (voltage)
XMP #1 6.0-7-7-17-22-0T @ 480 MHz (1.500 Volts)
XMP #2 7.0-7-7-19-26-0T @ 560 MHz (1.500 Volts)
XMP #3 8.0-8-8-22-29-0T @ 640 MHz (1.500 Volts)
XMP #4 9.0-9-9-25-33-0T @ 720 MHz (1.500 Volts)


DMI
DMI BIOS
vendor Alienware
version A04
date 11/18/2013
ROM size 6144 KB

DMI System Information
manufacturer Alienware
product Alienware X51 R2

DMI Processor
manufacturer Intel
model Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz
clock speed 3100.0 MHz
FSB speed 100.0 MHz
multiplier 31.0x

DMI Physical Memory Array
location Motherboard
usage System Memory
correction None
max capacity 16384 MBytes
max# of devices 2

DMI Memory Device
designation DIMM1
format DIMM
type unknown
total width 64 bits
data width 64 bits
size 8192 MBytes

DMI Memory Device
designation DIMM2
format DIMM
type unknown
total width 64 bits
data width 64 bits
size 8192 MBytes
 

Ronan

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
25
I have the same CPU and the same 8 gig option (there was no 16 gig option...).

I'm interested to see how this goes since my first upgrade is 2 sticks of 8 gigs asap.

In my case my DRAM is running at 800 meaning 1600. I wonder why your's isn't...
 

LordSmooth

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
3
Hi Ronan. Yes, there was no option for 16GB -- i figured no big deal because I would get my own for cheaper anyway. Anyhow, my original 2x4GB were running at 1600, but when I put in the 2x8GB it became 1333.

Ronan, by the way, take a look at this -- adding a SSD. I did this over the weekend and it was actually relatively easy. Just be sure to transfer your original HD to the SSD using the Samsung EVO software that is included, or you will be spending all weekend trying to find and input the original drivers. http://en.community.dell.com/owners-club/alienware/f/3746/t/19450393.aspx
 

Ronan

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
25
Hi Ronan. Yes, there was no option for 16GB -- i figured no big deal because I would get my own for cheaper anyway. Anyhow, my original 2x4GB were running at 1600, but when I put in the 2x8GB it became 1333.

Ronan, by the way, take a look at this -- adding a SSD. I did this over the weekend and it was actually relatively easy. Just be sure to transfer your original HD to the SSD using the Samsung EVO software that is included, or you will be spending all weekend trying to find and input the original drivers. http://en.community.dell.com/owners-club/alienware/f/3746/t/19450393.aspx

That's something i really want to do because the HDD that comes with the computer is pretty crappy by today's standard. But SSD's are so expensive...
 

TRevor

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
2
just upgraded

I have the same CPU and the same 8 gig option (there was no 16 gig option...).

I'm interested to see how this goes since my first upgrade is 2 sticks of 8 gigs asap.

In my case my DRAM is running at 800 meaning 1600. I wonder why your's isn't...

i just upgraded and it is showing in the dram that im at 800 as well but still getting frame drops i played with the factory specs for the x51 r2 and upgraded to the hyper 2x8 16 gb set on optimal settings and i got 60 fps{factory specs} now im playing at 30-45 fps {hyper x } am i doing something wrong
 
Top