test

Clean windows seven, 29 gb ?

johannesynt

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
43
Hi. Today I installed a mSATA on m14x, and i installed windows 7 (from original dvd form alienware). No backup, only a clean installation. Then i installed all the drivers with resource dvd...Is it possible that only windows+driver takes 29 gb? I can't belive that..my mSATA is 128, and now I have only about 80gb free.
 

SWAT_Glock

Administrator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,428
A 128GB is only around 119GB formatted. I have a Samsung P810 128GB mSATA SSD and that is the size formatted in windows with nothing on it. Win 7 Pro 64 needs about 20GB of free space.

Have you fully updated windows? There are a lots of updates plus your drivers might be taking up the rest.
 

johannesynt

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
43
A 128GB is only around 119GB formatted. I have a Samsung P810 128GB mSATA SSD and that is the size formatted in windows with nothing on it.
Ok thanks. I know that formatted is 119; anyway the problem already exist. On "COMPUTER" i saw that the disk is 119gb, but only 80gb free...so 30gb for only windows and drivers.

Now i have some games, and i have 65 gb free (and 54 busy)...if i rigth-click->property on "C", i see 54gb busy..but if a select ALL the folders in C, (with the (only) hidden folder "program data"), right-click->property i see only 41gb busy..so i don't understand where is this 13gb busy..
 

SWAT_Glock

Administrator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,428
It's always good to run the disk clean up tool (choose system files too) to remove the installers, logs, and everything else left over. I've seen up to 2GB free'ed up on certain installations.
 

AeonSoul

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
1,367
I think that paging file (is the same size of your RAM) takes some gb of space, plus you have to check if automatic backup it's enabled. That takes up shit ton of space.
 

johannesynt

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2012
Messages
43
I think that paging file (is the same size of your RAM) takes some gb of space, plus you have to check if automatic backup it's enabled. That takes up shit ton of space.

For paging files, I think i can't fix it, bacouse is normal. For checking backup option, where can i look? Anywhy, i don't think to have backup enabled...
 
Top