test

Graphics Card Update Questions

yash1610

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
1
I have an alienware x51 bought 2 months ago for which i am looking to upgrade the graphics card

My Specs are: I5 3330, GTX 645, 8GB ram, 1Tb HDD and the 240W PSU.

I am looking to upgrade the GPU to Zotac 750Ti 2GB (Link at end) mainly because this was the only card available in India that fits the power limits and price bracket; My main question being if the card is good or not, and will it fit properly and work without any hiccups. I have googled a lot about it but as i am a noob at this, I want some expert advice. And I am open to recommendations as well but please refrain from posting international sellers since the customs in India are extremely high.

P.S I want to be able to play most games at the best settings since as of now GTX 645 can run most if not all at High. Currently I can run BF4 at Mid with everything off on avg. 45 fps so I want something better

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500327

P.P.S I am also looking at MSI Geforce GTX 750Ti ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127784 ) please suggest me the better one and if my power supply is enough.
 
Last edited:

mf9

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
48
The GTX 750ti is not a bad card, however I doubt you will be able to run the latest games in Ultra. I have a ZOTAC GTX 760 4GB reference ( requires the 330w PSU ) and it just about run Titanfall and Watch dogs in Ultra. Note some new games like the 2 I mentioned need at least 3GB to run in Ultra. Checkout the ratings of each card below

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html
 

Alienwulf

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2014
Messages
238
I agree with mf9 you are not going to get Ultra out of a 2g Vram card..Try to get 3gigs the 750ti is an upgrade just the same and will be better than a 645. I would rather see a 760 3g in there.
 

DJaymo

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2014
Messages
22
you can get a 760 3 gig to work stock in a x51? i had no idea. is it a better card than my 270x? i can run games at high over 60 but wouldnt mind a bit more power myself.
 

DJaymo

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2014
Messages
22
I run the below with no issues:

http://www.zotac.com/products/graph...oduct/gtx-760/detail/geforce-gtx-760-4gb.html

It's not vastly faster than the 270x, however memory accounts for a lot these days when running in ultra for high texture count.

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html

can you run most games with that on Ultra?with my 270x Im running most games like BF4 and witcher 2 on high with not bad frames, over 60. but thats without any Anti-aliasing etc.
 

MiLoLaMb

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
24
With my EVGA 760 2GB I'm running watch dogs on ultra everything max 1440p. I run BF and Crysis and COD at high/ultra with 50-60 fps 1440p ?
 

DJaymo

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2014
Messages
22
With my EVGA 760 2GB I'm running watch dogs on ultra everything max 1440p. I run BF and Crysis and COD at high/ultra with 50-60 fps 1440p ?

2gb?which model you got set up?Didnt you say you were running that 4gb in that mod subforum?
 

MiLoLaMb

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
24
4GB is fine. I just don't see why you should spend $100 for extra VRAM when games don't use it unless playing over 1440p. With the 760 because as powerful as it i,s obviously people wouldn't run high spec games on ultra.
 

DJaymo

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2014
Messages
22
4GB is fine. I just don't see why you should spend $100 for extra VRAM when games don't use it unless playing over 1440p. With the 760 because as powerful as it i,s obviously people wouldn't run high spec games on ultra.

what would be your recommendation then, a stock 760 with the single blower or get a SC version etc? sorry so many questions but its been years since i been into computer stuff. trying to relearn everything again and its difficult lol
 

MiLoLaMb

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
24
I have an EVGA 2GB 760 in mine. It's a twin blower and loud as shit, it's up to you which one to get. The TDP Draw is 170W on any 760.
 
Top