Graphics card

nibber

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
4
Hi,
Aurora R4
Should have come here first! :(
I have just removed 2 x GTX555 (sli'd) -and fitted a single @2Gb gtx770 graphics to test the card-but I did not uninstall the old drivers!
Now the pc is stuck at the Press CTRL-I screen but nothing happens when I press these keyboard buttons .
Is there anything I can do to recover this?
Re-Installing the 2 x old cards just gives a blank screen -I don't even get the Alienhead bios screen etc.
Also need to update the BIOS as it is vey old AO3 I believe
 

Attachments

Last edited:

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
You can try to reset the CMOS/BIOS. Not sure it will work but it's helped me out a few times before. There should be a few videos online showing you how to do it.
I would guess that the issue is from your old BIOS version not recognising the newer card. I am surprised that reinstalling the old cards didn't work though.
 

nibber

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
4
Hi
I have managed to get the machine back up and running using a newer (than the old GTX555's) but still old, but more powerful Radeon card
Machine wont go past the Alienware head with the GTX770 installed.
Seen a lot of Alienware BIOS update horror stories online -I am always wary of doing BIOS updates. I have managed to find the older BIOS versions as it has to be done in order and I cannot go straight to A11 BIOS version, have to update in the correct order via the Rufus program (and not windows) but cant find a decent enough guide to be 100% confident enough to attempt the update via DOS using a bootable usb stick on start up but don't want to brick my motherboard on a machine that is now working okay again. Maybe I will just stick with it..... would of been nice to fit a newer card though.
Wanted to fit a GTX1070 or equivalent so just fitted the 770 as a stopgap which caused a real headache.
Only glad I didn't buy the 1070 first!
 
Last edited:

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
I have done many BIOS updates and never had a problem. You only hear about the horror stories and never about the other 99.9% which go perfectly. It's 100% up to you though. It's usually suggested to never update more than 3 versions past you current version but I always do each available one in order.
At the end of the day it's only a motherboard ;) When I was building my old R4 ALX, I ended up putting an aftermarket mobo in and still had full AlienFX functionality.
 

nibber

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
4
How did you carry out your BIOS update on your R4?
Any chance you can you run me through the procedure you used for the for the R4 :)
I have just dug out my old Aurora R3 from the loft just to see what GPU was fitted-I bought it a couple of years ago as a virtually bare case which had been robbed of the motherboard and cpu and internal boards-I fitted a second hand motherboard which turned out to be dead but then managed to find a brand new motherboard and a second hand cpu/various parts etc and got it all up and running fine and forgot it was in the loft until today-this R3 has actually got an Nvidia GTX770 2Gb fitted inside it and runs fine .
BIOS version on this is X13-see photo.
Is it possible to fit a GTX1070/ti card to the R4 as the rest of the pc is still quite powerful .
Just need to do the BIOS update and I can then fit a newer card
 

Attachments

Last edited:

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Jeez it would have been about 4 years ago since I had my R4 and I can hardly remember how I dressed myself this morning. I can't remember if it's just an easy download and install from Dell or from a disk image. I'm sure you'd just have to put your service tag in the Dell Support page and start upgrading the versions one by one.
I can't imagine why you'd have a problem with the 1070 once you manage to update your machine.
 
Top