test

Hello! And question....

suckerv

Hello everyone! Complete noob here, both to this site and to DIY computer upgrades in general. I had a question that I was hoping you guys could help me with.

I bought an Alienware Aurora in 2009 (just the base unit). I haven't done much upgrading with it other than adding an additional 12 GB of DDR3 RAM to it.

Recently, my mobo got fried and I've had to replace it. I purchased an ASUS Rampage III Gene mobo, which is currently being installed right now. I've dabbled a little bit with overclocking, but I hear that the Rampage III Gene is awesome for overclocking, especially since it comes with ROG Connect.

So my question is twofold:

1) What's the best way of adding some fans to my case? I just have to standard case, not the ALX, and if I'm going to be pushing my processor and GPU a bit, I'd like to insure that my rig is properly ventilated. I was thinking of maybe just leaving the case open and making sure it's clean about once a week?

2) I've looked everywhere, and I can't seem to find what kind of power supply my computer has. From what I understand, with the overclocking and new mobo, I might want to consider a beefier power supply. Does anyone happen to know what power supply came standard with the base Aurora units circa 2009-2010? And what type of power supply should I be looking into if I want to upgrade?

ASUS Rampage III Gene mobo
Intel i7 920 X58 Express processor
18 GB RAM
GTX 260 video card (eventually to be two 260s via SLI)

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

holeyguy66