test

Hi from TX

Vipor

Hi guys. New to the AWO Forum. In fact, new to Alienware period. Total newbie here. Actually don't have hardware yet. Still in research mode but hoping to get some hw soon. Been eye-balling the hw going between notebook and desktop and back to notebook trying to decide what to go for.

To date, I've mostly used typical entry level notebooks that I would get from work (I work for a PC company). No added horsepower of any kind on then. About 5 years ago, I jumped into the Mac side of things. But, still entry level with no added horsepower. Hoping to get my hands on one of these Alienware beasts here soon and see what kind of trouble I can get myself into. :p

AeonSoul

Welcome, and remember, even an entry level AW can be upgraded to be a beast :D

MattyB

Welcome. Good luck with your decision. I would suggest to go for the new 17 if you are between a desktop and a laptop. They are considered desktop replacements. Plenty of juice but still somewhat portable. Or the 18!

Vipor

Thanks Matt. Yes, been going back and forth between the 18 and the Aurora.

I like the "look" of the last gen laptops personally. I think the new ones took a hit aesthetically (just my opinion) while beefing them up under the hood. The Aurora, on the other hand, looks so dang awesome and can be loaded with whatever you want.

Looks like an 18 with base RAM (upgrade later), single 660, and 750G hdd (w/ caching SSD) will run in the $1800 range.
Looks like an ALX Aurora (Quad) with base RAM (upgrade later), dual 660s, 1TB hdd with 512 SSD bundle, and loaded with media reader, BR, Kybd/Mouse would run in the $2800 range.

Hmmmm... decisions decisions... the 18 runs about the same as I paid for my 4 yr old Macbook. But, man that Aurora would be a beast for not too much more. Ugghh!!

MattyB