I would like to swap the PSU of my 2012 Aurora R4. Which one to choose? Also: How do I bring the case lighting back to life?

inkibally

Nov 5, 2021
Lithuania
Hello fellow owners

Over the years I have replaced and upgraded almost everything except the power supply. It served me well but recently I discovered some buzzing during stress test loads so as a layman I thought maybe after 8 years it’s time to replace it. I also want enough power if Nvidias RTX 4000 series will eventually come with power draws in excess of 500 watts.
I just realized I dont know much about psu’s except their power numbers.
I wish to go for 1000W and it should be of good quality to last me another 8 years if possible.

The secondary question would be how I can bring back to life the case lighting. I remember I used to play with them through Command Center back in the day.
Since I upgraded to my “MSI 370Zm Gaming Pro AC” main board it didn’t work anymore. Alienware Command Center also says the computer isn’t compatible as I tried to install it. I didn’t bother in the beginning but now I would like to bring it back as the lights themselves should still be working fine and always looked nice.

I couldn’t find posts about this with the search function. Maybe I didn’t do it right and in that case I’m sorry.

I‘ll include a photo of the removed PSU if that may help.

Best Regards and a nice weekend

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    122.5 KB · Views: 0

Cass-Olé

Jan 9, 2013
Virginia

How to Install Command Center for a Non-Alienware Motherboard (see my post page 1 post#4 for the R4 Bios.txt & follow instructions in post #1 &/or post #4

PTDC0014.JPG