test

Integrated Intel HD 3000

ripperbone

so im kinda new to alienware and been looking at posts about dual video cards and well i came across something saying that all M17X-R3 have a intergraded Intel HD 3000. well I cant find anything on my laptop saying it has it. I clicked on (FN and F7) and it says "This Does Not Do Anything"

I have the Nivida GeForce GTX 560M but should I have the intel HD 3000 as well?

I have tried this
http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/kcs/document?c=us&cs=19&docid=439100
and still no luck

Maelstrom

All computers have some form of integrated graphics. Whether it's an Alienware or a cheap laptop you got from the outlet. You shouldn't really worry about at all. Your desktop screen and such should run off of the integrated graphics while an games you play use your graphics card.

DDuB420

Not the 3D 120hz screen model. It runs off of the GPU.
A buddy of mine on another forum ran into this problem when he tried to turn his Alienware M17xR3 into a hackintosh. Because of the 3D screen his model didn't support using iGPU. Which stopped his progress dead in his tracks.

ripperbone

well i just got off the phone with Alienware tech support, and he went threw my system and said I had the newest bios update and the new bios update doesnt show the intergrated video card.

DDuB420

does it say anything in the display adapters section of device manager about intel graphics (might not say 3000 HD)

DDuB420

Do you have your m17xr3's resource DVD?
If yes, load it and install the intel 3000 driver.
Check device manager again after install.

ripperbone

second call to tech support.