My M17x R4 got BSOD

shankc

Hi I had a couple of problems last night when I was gaming and with this being my first Alienware I'm not sure if I'm over reacting. I started playing far cry 3 about 11pm last night and it turned into a marathon session. But about 5am the game just froze and I had to restart my alien then about 2hours later I got the BSOD I'm not sure of the code as by that time I was rather weary lol. So my R4 (my specs are below)was going non stop for a 7 hour period and then another 2 hours before getting BSOD. So I don't no if it was just one of those things as I was using it for so long on the highest settings. This is my first gaming laptop so I have nothing to compare it to. It is about 10 month's old. So if any of you hardcore gamers could tell me if this is just a normal occurrence as I hammered it last night,not literally lol. I use a Xbox controller and my alien sits on a table with plenty of airflow. So any advice would be much appreciated

AeonSoul

Download WhoCrashed and check the crash dumps, if it's not clear post it here and we'll go from there.

MattyB

Have you overclocked your 7970 at all? temps could definitely be the problem. maybe give it a spring clean inside too.

shankc