My X51 makes an unnerving fan noise, like a quiet machine-gun. Possibly from GPU fan

AnubisOne

My device: Alienware x51 R2, AMD r9 270, Core i7, 16gb RAM, 1TB HDD
I got the unit today as a Christmas present, no apparent damage and its performance is fine. However, right when I booted up the x51, it started making a strange, unnerving fan-like noise and hasn't shut off yet. It sounds like a quiet machine-gun noise. It is just loud enough to be heard anywhere from inside my room. I linked an audio file so you can listen and think of what it is. I do not believe the issue to be the system's main fan, because I hear that kick in sometimes too. My theory is that the noise is from the graphics card's fan system, or even the HDD. I played a few games on it and the noise got louder. Has anybody heard of this issue and is there a way I can fix it? I have some knowledge of computers but I am hesitant to tear it open just yet because I am new to the x51, but I am concerned that it could damage the system eventually.
Thanks!

MP3:
https://onedrive.live.com/redir?res...9004&authkey=!AOoiIA6GrYFsLqo&ithint=file,mp3

Godzilla

Hi AnubisOne,
I have the same rig as yours and got it right before Christmas and yes mine made the same noise as yours. I wouldn't be opening up your system because
1). it would void your warranty and
2). there's nothing really to worry about from that noise.
What your hearing is the fan on the GPU and apparently the AMD r9 is just a noisy card. I have owned both NVidia and AMD cards over the years and some AMD and nvidia models are just noisy then others. I have logged quite a few hours on my x51 R2 since I got it and eventually the noise from the GPU will quite down. In fact I hardly hear my GPU fan anymore and I suspect after you break your rig in you will notice the rattle sound becoming less and less. Hope this helps.

2002whitegt

Hi AnubisOne,