Official Non-Alienware PC Specs Thread

WaLkAwaY

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
550
Title pretty much explains it. Though I really don't care if you have an alienware and you post your specs in here.

Also I am putting this here because this:

Non-Alienware Systems, Parts, and Accessories
Sell your other brand Systems, Parts, and Accessories here for Free!

And

PC Parts and Tech
General discussion for PC parts, system builds, and all the latest technology.

Seemed an odd place to put them. Because I am neither selling nor building one. Though I guess if it came down to the wire the latter would be more appropriate.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Travel/Business:
Laptop
Intel Atom CPU 1.5GHz
2 GB Ram
Windows 7 Ultimate 64

Gaming/Movies/Editing:
  • ASUS M4N98TD EVO
  • AMD Phenom II x4 965 Black 3.4GHz
  • x-fi Titanium Fatality pro
  • WD Caviar Black 1.5TB x3 in RAID 5
  • G.Skill Ripjaw DDR 1333 16GB
  • Antec CP-850 CP ATX12v PSU
  • ASUS DVD Burner
  • Plextor DVD Burner
  • Antec 1200 Black Steel ATX FT case
  • MS Sidewinder X8 mouse
  • MS Sidewinder X6 KB
  • EVGA GeForce GTX470 1280mb GDDR5
  • Windows 7 Ultimate 64
  • 46" Samsung LED and LG 22" Monitor
Work/Gaming/Editing:
  • MSI 870A-G46
  • AMD Phenom II x4 Black 965 3.4GHz
  • WD Caviar Black 1TB x4
  • Corsair Vengeance DDR 1600 16GB
  • Antec TPQ850 CP ATX12V PSU
  • Forgot what the case was
  • on board sound
  • nVidia Geforce GTS 250 1GB GDDR3
  • HP DVD Burner
  • Sony DVD Burner
  • Windows 7 Ultimate 64 / Ubuntu
  • LG 22" Monitors x2
  • Regular black KB
  • Razer Lachesis 5600dpi

Though as of late the work computer has seen most of the gaming and editing.
 
Last edited:

AeonSoul

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
1,380
My desktop is a Dell XPS 420, on which I did some tweaking when parts started failing :D

Intel Quad Core Q6600,
8GB Kingstone DDR2 @ 800 Mhz
Asus nVidia GeForce ENGTX 275 1 GB GDDR3 (if I recall correctly)
WD Caviar Green 1 TB @ 7.200 rpm
Another HDD which brand I don't remeber, ~500 GB
Corsair TX650 650w
Logitech G500 Gaming Mouse
Logitech G110 Gaming Keyboard
Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

Not exactly a killer machine, but works good for what it does :p
I will update it a bit when I get back home and have access to my desktop, I can't recall everything atm.
 

Eirreann

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
511
You seem to be an AMD fan, WalkAway :)
Or maybe, *gasp, could it be possible?*, that's actually a decent processor!

Anyway, here are my terrible, sucky specs:

Laptop
Intel Pentium M 1.50GHz processor
512 MB RAM
55GB HDD
Nvidia GeForce FX Go 5200 video card
Microsoft Sidewinder x4 Keyboard
Microsoft Sidewinder x5 Mouse

This laptop will be eleven years old in May... it's lived a long and productive life, but goodness I cannot wait until I can afford my Alienware...
 

Org

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
43
Main desktop I built a few years ago:
Operating System: Windows 7
Case: Antec 300
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.2ghz
Memory: 4gb ddr3 OCZ Reapers
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4850
Sound Card: Onboard
Hard Drive: WDC 500gb
Mouse: SideWinder X5
Mousepad: Freebie Max Payne
Keyboard: Logitech wireless
Monitor: LG E3240 23(?) inch


The freebie computer I stole from someones trash:
Operating System: Ubuntu
Case: Dell XPS
CPU: Intel Core Duo 2ghz
Memory: 1.5gb ddr(1)
Video Card: 6600 Geforce
Sound Card: Random add-on card
Hard Drive: Random 80gb
Mouse: Wired Logitech
Mousepad: NOTHING but a table top
Keyboard: Wired Logitech
Monitor: LG 32 inch TV


It works for music and late night video's :cool:
 

Eirreann

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
511
The freebie computer I stole from someones trash:
Operating System: Ubuntu
Case: Dell XPS
CPU: Intel Core Duo 2ghz
Memory: 1.5gb ddr(1)
Video Card: 6600 Geforce
Sound Card: Random add-on card
Hard Drive: Random 80gb
Mouse: Wired Logitech
Mousepad: NOTHING but a table top
Keyboard: Wired Logitech
Monitor: LG 32 inch TV


It works for music and late night video's :cool:
You got that out of the trash? Nice! It's better than my pitiful laptop!
 

Org

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
43
You got that out of the trash? Nice! It's better than my pitiful laptop!
It had some kind of bad ass virus were windows wouldn't boot up so I just installed ubuntu over it. :D

Got a free windows xp key (don't know if it works) on the side of the case aswell.
 

Eirreann

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
511
It had some kind of bad ass virus were windows wouldn't boot up so I just installed ubuntu over it. :D

Got a free windows xp key (don't know if it works) on the side of the case aswell.
Did you try wiping/replacing the hard drive and reinstalling Windows?
 

Org

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
43
Nah, reformatting/repairing with a windows XP cd probably would of worked but I didn't own one or wish to put money into something iffy to work.

*Once you install Ubuntu on a harddrive windows can never be installed on that harddrive again*
 

wilbymilstone

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
193
Operating System
MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 925 ~ 2.8GHz
Deneb 45nm Technology
RAM
4.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 669MHz (9-9-9-24) A-Data
Motherboard
ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A78LT-M-LE (AM3) 43 °C
Graphics
ASUS VW224 (1680x1050@60Hz)
ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series (Sapphire/PCPartner) 40 °C 4650 w/ 1Gb VRAM
Hard Drives
488GB Western Digital WDC WD5000AAKS-00V1A0 ATA Device (SATA) 36 °C
244GB Seagate ST3250318AS ATA Device (SATA) 32 °C
Optical Drives
DTSOFT Virtual CdRom Device
ASUS DVD-E818A4 ATA Device
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22NS40 ATA Device
Audio
VIA High Definition Audio
 

Eirreann

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
511
Nah, reformatting/repairing with a windows XP cd probably would of worked but I didn't own one or wish to put money into something iffy to work.

*Once you install Ubuntu on a harddrive windows can never be installed on that harddrive again*
That's a bit of a shame... but ah well, Ubuntu is still a pretty good OS! Fun to experiment with...
 

SWAT_Glock

Administrator
AWO Supporter
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,469
My current desktop gaming rig:






Corsair 600T Case
Intel 2600K CPU - OC to 4.3Ghz
Corsair H50 Cooler
Asus Maximus IV GENE-Z MB
EVGA GTX580 3GB
16GB Corsair Vengence Ram @ 1866Mhz
Crucial M4 256GB SSD
Western Digital 1TB HHD
Corsair AX1200 1200 Watt PS
LG Blu-ray Drive


30" Dell u3011 monitor
17" Dell monitor
Alienware TactX KB
Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers
 

Org

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
43
You case looks so neat and clean.

That motherboards name is misleading Asus Maximus IV GENE-Z... why you so tiny. :rolleyes:
 

SWAT_Glock

Administrator
AWO Supporter
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,469
You case looks so neat and clean.

That motherboards name is misleading Asus Maximus IV GENE-Z... why you so tiny. :rolleyes:
LOL...I could still run a second GFX card with that tiny board. :)




This is the first build that I used round SATA cables. They are great. Easy wire managment.
 

Org

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
43
I'm jealous of your wire management it takes me 5 tries to close my case.

1.wire in door
2.wire in fan
3.other wire in other fan
4.wtf is that noise
5. aaah
 

Eirreann

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
511
LOL...I could still run a second GFX card with that tiny board. :)




This is the first build that I used round SATA cables. They are great. Easy wire managment.
That's a pretty nice mobo! I'll have to look into it for an Intel rig that I was thinking about...
 

Org

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
43
here's an image of my main computer:



Yaaa, it need cleaned and the PSU may be installed upside down.

/edit it's got 2x 4 led colored fans in the front you can't see them and ether can I b/c the air filter before them needs cleaned aswell. 5 case fans total but normally just use 3 at 40% power system/cpu hovers around 38c.

/edit All Fans on 100% lowers to 34c (still uncleaned)
 
Last edited:

SWAT_Glock

Administrator
AWO Supporter
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,469
All I can say is vacuum, air compressor, and a damp micro fiber towel is needed. Lol
 

Eirreann

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
511
All I can say is vacuum, air compressor, and a damp micro fiber towel is needed. Lol
I second that; I nearly had a heart attack when I saw that! (I'm one of those people who gets a bit obsessive with cleaning...)
 
Top