test

overclocking help and advice needed for my new m18x

Sleepy

hello all im new here... i have owned a m17x for 6 months or so and now i have my new m18x arriving in a few days specs:

i73940xm
16gb 1600mhz ram
dual GTX680 sli
wireless killer card
500gb hard drive

I would first like some info on how to overclock the cpu and if it would be needed for my gaming needs ( i would like to get the best possible out of my m18x )

I mostly play bf3 on it right now but will be playing other stuff to.

I would like a step by step of what (if any ) programs would be needed , and some info as to whether i should do this for the specs i have or not ? ( i have no experience of any overclocking yet so please be kind ) if possible ?

next should i overclock the gtx680 sli ( i think i have read that this is done some times) , but im not sure if can be done and if so how ? ,,, and will it benefit my set up ? (again a basic step by step would be very much appreciated )

Last of all can some one recommend some good surround sound head sets for gaming that is going to work well with my new m18x .

Thx for any help anyone can offer

Maelstrom

What FPS do you get while playing BF3? With the setup you have now I would expect that you shouldn't need to OC at all for gaming.

Sleepy

on my m17x i can get at its lowest 50 fps on mostly medium settings some ultra ( iv been using V-sync to remove screen tearing ) so the highest i get is just 60 ish fps ,,,im hoping to get a steady 60fps on ultra with my m18x ? ... but i still have a few days before it arrives yet :( do you think i will get this ?

MattyB

Yeah there would really be no point in overclocking as you pretty much have the best of everything in that beast. If you really want to overclock it anyway, I would PM Mr Fox if I were you as he seems to be the M18x overclocking champion of the world!

Sleepy