Paint flaking off Media Contol Key panel

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Picture 2.jpg

Just a quicky. This is purely a cosmetic thing but has anyone had a problem with paint flaking off around the Media Control Keys? Since new there were a few little silver spots but it is starting to get worse. I have only had it for a few months. I am really not using these keys that much. It is also starting to happen around the power button and further to the left (where I dont even touch). The paint across the entire panel is actually striated like a brush stroke which you can see under the power button in the pic. Is this normal or should it be a nice smooth finish? I looks worse in real life than in the photo.
 

calric

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
59
you know, it is supposed to be pretty polished. mine is nowhere near that. i just looked a bit closer at mine and there are spots; but hard to say if its being worn off because i use mine a little or if its just dirty. eitherway; nothing to that extreme. and mine is barely noticable; probably wouldn't have noticed it if i havn't seen this.
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Its the only thing spoiling my beautiful machine. Not sure if Dell would do anything about it. I will try though. The way its going, I will have a completely silver panal by the end of the year!
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Sent an email to Dell regarding this. They got straight back to me requesting a pic. Will be interesting to see if they do anything.
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Less than 24 hours after sending Dell an intitial email outlining my problem, they have told me that a new panel is being sent to replace my damaged one! Love your work Dell!! Extremely satisfied.
 

AeonSoul

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
1,380
Well that's a good customer service. I hope they will replace it for you and you won't have to do it yourself. I wouldn't know where to start lol :p
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
I was pretty impressed. I mis-read the email they sent me though. It actually says they are sending out a new 'unit'. I'm pretty sure that means a new machine. Just checking on this. To be honest I would rather they just sent me the part. There are a few videos on youtube showing how to teardown an M17x. Doesn't look too hard. I dont want to have to re-install everything that I have put on mine. I havent had any major problems with the actual machine so far.
 

BlackJair

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2012
Messages
340
I changed the keyboard by myself, it isn't that hard. You could try it too.
 

yikes81

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
1,560
Are you sure its not worn out because you keep adjusting the volume to watch your porn, and you don't want to get caught?

New unit??? Awesome. You need to place one of the units on here for sale at a discounted price.
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Are you sure its not worn out because you keep adjusting the volume to watch your porn, and you don't want to get caught?

New unit??? Awesome. You need to place one of the units on here for sale at a discounted price.
Shhhh!!!! Don't tell anyone...... I know its not what I'm doing since its happening across the entire panal. It is worse around the keys though. They are collecting the old one unfortunately. I actually want them to change the whole unit now because its developed a problem in the last 24 hours. It boots up to the windows desktop then occasionally it will become unresponsive. It wont freeze completely (mouse pointer will move and highlight) but you cant do anything. Cant open Task Manager either when this happens. Have to use the power button to switch off. Any ideas?
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Just one called Lockbox which locks specific folders in windows. I have done another system restore and not reinstalled it. Lets see........
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Question. So Dell are going to replace my whole system because of this paint problem. If i do a system backup to an external hard drive, can I take this backup and install it on my new system to get everything on it that my current machine has? Or, is there an easy way to get all my current games and programs onto my new unit?
 

xxdranenxxx

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
55
Well it's nice to read about good customer support for once I am sure it happens everyday but nobody posts it. As for getting a new lappy that's awesome hope it works just the same of course without the paint chips. Now that you mention it mine is looking the same around those area's but this thing has been so good for the past 6 months I'm not going to say anything I would hate to send it in and end up with major issues LOL
 

walton292

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
1
I've had my M17Xr3 since last June and have had to replace the bezel 4 times because of paint flaking and its coming off again. Definitely a quality control issue.
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Oh really?? That sucks. I guess the same will happen to me. So they only replaced the part for you? I wish thats what they are doing for me but they are sending a new machine. The part would take 11 weeks while a new unit would be 2-3. I'm hoping they forget to take my old one.........
 

Commy1

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
325
Lol wouldn't we all like that. Soudns like a good deal, kind wish the m14x wasn't all black softtouch, might have a chance at a new machine ;P but regardless of that.
 

yikes81

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
1,560
Dude, I pray that they forget to take your old machine. Consider it another Dell service provided to you!
 

ThatOldGuy

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2012
Messages
93
Question. So Dell are going to replace my whole system because of this paint problem. If i do a system backup to an external hard drive, can I take this backup and install it on my new system to get everything on it that my current machine has? Or, is there an easy way to get all my current games and programs onto my new unit?
If they are sending the exact same system with the same HDD(s), just swapp the HDD(s). That is the easiest way, but yea, you can also do a backup of your old and use it to restore the new.
 

MattyB

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,662
Dude, I pray that they forget to take your old machine. Consider it another Dell service provided to you!
That would be awesome. Then I would have 2 M17's and an M11. I wont know what to do with myself. Its not going to happen though. They said I could keep it so I could transfer stuff across. They havent said anything about picking it up yet though.
 
Top