test

Problems upgrading RAM in Late 2009 ALX

djericj

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2014
Messages
2
I have been trying to upgrade the RAM in my Late 2009 Aurora ALX.

Currently I have 6 GB and I'm trying to upgrade to 12GB.

At first I bought this from NewEgg:

Mushkin Enhanced Redline 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226309&cm_re=mushkin-_-20-226-309-_-Product

I got it, installed and and the machine wouldn't boot. Turn on but never got to POST.

So I returned it and went to Crucial and used their tool to get some that was "guaranteed compatible".

I bought this Ballistix Enhanced 12GB kit (4GBx3) DDR3 PC3-12800 Unbuffered .

Got that today, installed it and the same thing, machine turns on but doesn't boot.

So I put the old RAM back in and the machine gives me this message before POST: "The Previous overclocking has failed." I hit F1 to continue and the machine is booted normally.

So is there anything I'm doing wrong? I've built computers plenty of times before and never had this much problem with a simple upgrade.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
163
I had similar trouble with my Aurora R4 (2012).
I think you will only be able to use similar speed RAM already installed - mine it was 1600 - i tried 1866 and it failed to boot also.
 

djericj

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2014
Messages
2
I had similar trouble with my Aurora R4 (2012).
I think you will only be able to use similar speed RAM already installed - mine it was 1600 - i tried 1866 and it failed to boot also.

Yes, this is what I figured too. However, I have tried both speeds and neither worked. The Newegg RAM was 1866, and the Ballistix RAM was 1600. Whats more, the machine shipped with 1866 RAM (XMP3). I checked them physically and verified they are running at that speed in the BIOS and using CPUz.

Also, the manual seems to be providing incorrect info (at least how I am reading it). The manual says:

1066 MHz and I333 MHz DDR3 Slots 1, 3, and 5 or slots 1 — 6
-- OR--
1600 MHz XMP Slots 1, 3, and 5

I cant understand why if the manual says it only supports 1600 then why did it ship from the factory with 1866 RAM?

Even so, you would think that if the Mushkin 1866 RAM didn't work, then at least the Ballistix 1600 would. Yet neither did.
 

ANT

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2015
Messages
17
Did you get it resolved? I'm interested in upping RAM my Aurora Late 09 model?
 

aimeehuang

New Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
1
I am also happened this problem before, but I am not use Alienware ALX, it is alienware m17x.
 

Alienwulf

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2014
Messages
238
Use 4, 8, or 16g of ram..also either 2 or all 4 dimms. Not 3 sticks will not work. Hope this helps you out.
Also if you use 2 sticks use one and three or two and four dimms only.
 
Top