test

RAM issue

Phx-Rush

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
15
Ok, I need alittle help. I'm running 7 ultimate on a M17XR4 . I thought it could take 24Gb? I installed 2 sticks of Corsair Vengence CMSX8GX3M2B2133C11 ( 4GB) and the laptop boots up , sees the Ram and identifies it. When I put in the 8GB sticks it won't power up, runs a couple of seconds and turns off? I put in the 8GB sticks alone, under the keyboard ,in the bottom ,...........same thing. I put the 4GB sticks anywhere and powers up fine. I even added the older 4GB sticks and it still powers up but clocks to the lower ram. I'm getting a tiny bit irritable , the 8GB sticks are not cheap..........unless someone has a great idea , I'm thinking of sending them back or selling them myself and getting 2 more sticks of 4GB. Help............ (CMSX16GX3M2B2133C11 2X8gb)
 
Last edited:

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,964
Edit

Your machine will take up to 32gb. It will not run at 2133 though unless you use 3rd party software. It should just declock the ram back to 1600 though. This could possibly be your problem. Have you tried just running 1 of the 8gh sticks at a time? One of them could possibly be faulty. Does the machine beep multiple times when you power it on?

You may also have to change the timings in the BIOS if you can get in there.
 

BrokeHombre

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
80
It will take 32gig easily, I have 24 in mine and will be maxing it out here later this summer. I would check the timing settings in your bios first, then as MattyB said, check the 8gig sticks one at a time and also listen for beeps when its posting. Its possible that one or both sticks are faulty. Good Luck!
 

Phx-Rush

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
15
I decided to send back the two 8GB sticks and order another pair of 4GB sticks(still Corsair Vengeance) and while I had the back opened repasted w/Tuniq TX-4 and changed GPU pads w/Fujipoly XR-m Hi Extreme 17W. Posted fine, saw all 4 sticks ,identified them and life is better :)
 

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,964
I would have to assume one of those 8gb sticks was bad then. great to see it's back up and running though.
 

Phx-Rush

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
15
almost 200.00 for both sticks, and they were BOTH bad . All 4 4gb sticks are runnin fine, thanks for the help.sometimes ya get tunnel vision when things go to Sh*te
 
Top