Should a noob upgrade to a gtx 460m?

Keeps

Hallo guys,

After doing a lot of internet research I´m still not sure if I dare to upgrade my GPU. I hope some off you can help me make a decision.

I bought this M15x second-hand a month ago and i´m very happy with it. Most of my games run pretty good at medium settings (crysis 1/2), but I would like to play them on higher settings with a higher FPS. I can´t afford to ruin this laptop, but I CAN afford an unused GTX 460M from Ebay. ($175+$45 shipping to the Netherlands)

I have no experience what so ever in building laptops etc. Do you think it´s safe to order the new GPU and install it myself? Is it just plug&play with the old parts of the GTX 260M? I saw some youtube video´s and it doesn´t seem too difficult..

Is it just a matter of installing the card and everything will work just fine? Or is there a change I will experience problems and have to make adjustments to BIOS etc?

Thanks in advance guys! :D

- - - - - Updated; Consecutive Post Auto Merged - - - - -

P.s. totally forget to mention my specs:

I7 720qm
6gb ram
1600x900 screen (don´t know if that´s standard)

MattyB

Hi,
The 460M was released in the M15x so in theory it should just be plug and play. You will also need some thermal paste and maybe some thermal pads (all available on ebay for little money).
Any cards higher than the 460M will definitely need a modded driver (www.laptopvideo2go.com). Last year I put a 570M in an M15x without much trouble and got great results.
It's not hard but you need to be careful. Don't do it on carpet or in socks because you will build up more static electricity which can fry your new GPU. I have never used an antistatic wrist band but they are probably a good idea.

Keeps