test

Solid State Drive Options

Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
163
Hey guys,
My next upgrade will be an SSD for my OS.
So looking at 80-100GB only.
I am thinking the drives are 3.5" right?
The prices in Australia are pretty steep!
I can't see the prices coming down dramatically anytime soon - are there any brands I should steer clear of?
Cheers
 

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,909
The SSD itself will be a 2.5" but it will come with a 3.5" adapter so you can put it into your Aurora.

I just got an OCZ Vertex 4 and it seems pretty good so far.
 

holeyguy66

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2012
Messages
612
i have a ocz vertex 2 in mine running the os only and love it.
its a 60 gig that i only paid 60 bux for off ebay new in box i think you can go a little bigger for 100 bux. but honestly in your aurora id run just your os on the ssd and everything else off a hdd i have a wd 1tb with the rest of my games and what not on it
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
163
Thanks for the response!
Do all 2.5" SSD come with adapter? I hope so.
I will go with the OCZ just in case..
 

AeonSoul

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
1,367
No, they don't. You need to make sure it's specified they have the 3.5" adapter in the box.
Most likely there will be something like "Desktop kit" written, or something like that.

Regardless of that, the only brand I've read on the internet to stay off is Corsair, but I guess that's just personal opinions.
You might want to look into Crucial m4 or Samsung 830 series aswell. 128gb SSDs shouldnt be more than 150 €.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
163
So i got Corsair 120GB SATA-III Force Series GT - Read 555MB/s, Write 515MB/s.
Those numbers are pretty impressive.
 

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,909
Nice. As AeonSoul said, the Corsiars have a bad rep around the place but I put a Force GT in my M11x and it performs fantastically.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
163
OK heres a good one:

I installed the SSD with the adapter plate in one of the spare drive bay - no luck not recognised!
I hook it up in the 5" drive bay under the BD_ROM - all working!
I have checked it is making good contact in the drive bay but still nothing!
Any suggestions?
 

AeonSoul

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
1,367
Can you see it in the BIOS? If your system doesnt recognize it but you can still see it in the BIOS try switching to AHCI connection.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
163
I already tried AHCI. Still no luck!
It will only be seen when I connect it to the SATA connections below the BD ROM drive.
It sitting fine in the drive bay..... might be its new home?
Just loaded win 7 - boot up is soooo fast.
 

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,909
Nice. Sounds like all is well in its new home. What is your new boot time?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
163
Nice. Sounds like all is well in its new home. What is your new boot time?

Yeah its strange the SSD only likes that spot but as long as it works!

Boot time from POST beep is around 25 sec - with a password too... Pretty good!
 

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,909
Its kind of funny that you get 7.9 for 3D gaming graphics when you pretty much have the best card available. Maybe you'll bump it up slightly when you get a second (or third) one. :D
 

MattyB

Moderator
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
2,909
You learn something new every day. Seems an odd number for a maximum score.
 

Maelstrom

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
698
The top score used to be 5.9. They have like that so they can add on to the top. Currently it goes from 1 to 7.9.
 
Top