test

Some questions about X51 R3: drives, dual boot and graphic cards

derkomai

Hi,

I've been owning a fully loaded X51 R3 for the last 3 months, and I have some questions. I hope somebody can help me out here to solve them.

My machine is configured with a 250Gb SSD M.2 PCIe + 2TB HDD.

- The issue showed up when I tried to dual boot the machine. When I install Ubuntu or Elementary OS, no matter which version, installers only offer me the option to install to the hdd, but not to the ssd. If I customize my install with the "something more" option, I can select the ssd and everything goes OK, but when I reboot there's no sign of a Linux installation anywhere.
I've tried many times: I create the boot, root and swap partitions as I always do. But the strange thing is, when the installation ends and the machine is rebooted, Grub does not show up and Windows is loaded instead. Furthermore, sometimes I can't see the new partitions from Windows partition manager.

- Is there any way so I can add another SSD to the machine without taking out the existing drives? In the case I can't make the dual boot work, this is the only solution I've came up with, but it seems there's no room for an extra SSD drive.

- Can this machine handle a GTX 970 without using the graphics amplifier? Is the 330W power supply enough? What about the GTX 980?

Thank you in advance.

Dan.J

Not sure about your drive/dual boot issues. Yes the right size GTX 970 will work great in the X51 R3 without mods and the GTX 980 some guys are able to use without issue with some minor mods to make room for it. I personally just run a 980TI in the graphics amp which works well for me.

flowerdealer

If you have the non-water cooled version you should be able to fit an extra SSD on top of the optical drive.

SWAT_Glock

Administrator
I have the water-cooled version with no optical drive, so it's not possible that way.