The Complete Dunce's Guide to Building a Gaming PC

Eirreann

I think that all of us here can pretty much agree that Alienware is one of the greatest gaming computer companies out there. Most of us own one (or more), and some of us (like me), just dream about owning one. And indeed, Alienware computers are simply amazing in almost every aspect... except in the price. Unfortunately, Alienware’s largest fault is that its computers do not come cheap. For many people with larger incomes or no time (or both) this isn’t an issue, but for the rest of us the price tag can be a barrier. But this shouldn’t be cause for worry! It is very possible to have a simply amazing gaming PC for a much lower price, by building one. PC building is relatively easy and can be a very fun and productive process (plus, you get a badass rig that your friends will drool at....) The process of finding, buying, and assembling the many parts of a computer, however, will seem confusing to a complete newbie, so I took the liberty to write up this little how-to guide on finding, buying, and putting together all of the right parts for your gaming needs!

The very first thing that you should do is research. Research, research, research. Find out as much as you possibly can about building a computer, what parts to buy, where to buy them, etc etc etc. This essay is a good introduction, but you should use as many other sources of information as you possibly can! Here’s a good starting place in your quest to building a computer: