Upgrades for my Alienware M17 R1 2015

DarksArrow

Hello,

I am trying to do some upgrades on my computer but not sure what I can upgrade or what I can upgrade it with. I will attach my specs to this and I'm kind of new to this so if I'm missing anything please let me know also. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

MattyB

Hi. The M17 R2 is the most recent Alienware 17 inch machine which was released a month or two ago. If your machine has the 860M GPU as listed on your spec sheet then you have the Alienware 17 R1. If this is the case then you can upgrade everything. CPU, GPU, memory and storage and you can also upgrade the LCD to a 3D 130hz one if you have the 60hz. Best to open the bottom panel up and check that you have an MXM GPU in there. The AW 17 R2 had the 900 series cards so I'm pretty sure yours is the R1 like mine.
The CPU is limited to ones of the same socket but you can still get a 4910mq or 4930xm. You can put up to a 1070 MXM card in there but they aren't cheap. You have 16gb memory which is still plenty for most applications but you can go up to 32gb.
I'm not sure what storage you're using but if you just have a standard HDD then an SDD will be a great upgrade.

DarksArrow

Well thank you for the reply and thank you for clearing up the model as well. I did upgrade the memory to 16gb from the stock 8gb but that's it, are the other upgrades hard to do such as the GPU and change my 1tb HDD to a 1tb SDD? I don't know anything about CPU's and I'm sure that's a whole other level of upgrade is it not?

MattyB

If you enter your service tag in the Dell support page on their website you can pinpoint which machine you have.
If you do have the R1 then the CPU is actually one of the easiest things to upgrade. You just have to remove the bottom cover and then the CPU heatsink. Then you just remove the current CPU, drop the new one in, put some new thermal paste on and put it all back together.