What Graphics card would fit AND work with X51 R1??

Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
13

kelticknight

Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
32
That's a good card and perfect fit. I went for 1050 tI as it's only 75 watt usage and was 4gb but the you looking at is good also
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
13
That's a good card and perfect fit. I went for 1050 tI as it's only 75 watt usage and was 4gb but the you looking at is good also
Ah, which card would you say is better? The 1060 or the 1050TI?
Could you link me your card please?
Also does your card still need the 330w power supply?
 
Last edited:

Ondrej

New Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2016
Messages
1
Ciao guys. I have bought X51/R2 few years ago to my son, and this Christmas it is finally coming - GPU upgrade (original Nvidia GTX 1060 Founders Edition)! You can imagine that the moment he finds the surprise under the Christmas tree, he will want to immediately assemble it into his beloved X51 and try the WatchDogs2 in HD / full detail. Now, since I am total BFU ref hardware, I have few questions, since I will be the one to install it.
1) Is the PCIE power cord inside R2 long enough to reach the socket of FE? Or do I need to prepare myself with extension?
1a) If extension necessary could you advise how to fit it into the super-tiny space?
2) Which one of the existing cords should I use - marked 1 or 2, or doesn't matter at all? :)
Thank you in advance!
Ondrej, Czech
 

Sammie7

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2016
Messages
2
I've just done this upgrade for my X51 R1. i7-3770, 16Gb-RAM, 2Tb-HDD, 330W PSU. My BIOS was updated to A14 already. Powerboard is default. I get reference design not overcklocked GTX 1060 6Gb from Zotac and it fits perfectly (same dimensions as default GTX 660). So I didn't have to do any case mods for that.
Works perfectly!!! Stable, fast)))
Only graphic card? How abt processor and power supply? Thanks!
 

JustDude

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2017
Messages
3
hey guys o/
I read this thread and bought gtx 1060. Before installing new graphic card I updated bios to a14. But it does not work :( There is 'no signal' if I connect a new graphic card through a dvi-hdmi adapter to the monitor. After switching cable to motherboard hdmi and boot, there is nothing in device manager except 'Intel HD graphics'. I've tried three 1060 graphic card, all with 6-pin connector: Two Zotac 1060 with reference cooling and one MSI(mini version). Still no success... It looks like motherboard(bios) can't detect new graphic card at all.
Any thoughts?

My configuration: x51 r1, i5-2320, 8gb ram, gtx 555 oem(6-pin), 330w(VFHMM pb), bios a14.

update*
I got a new card, gtx 1050Ti, with power consumption less then my old gtx555 and it still the same. The only gpu that works on my pc is gtx555. I'm confused :(

update 2*
I replaced the power board to D85RT, but did not help. Bios still does not define a new gpu.
 
Last edited:

JustDude

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2017
Messages
3
Well, guys, I found a solution. The problem was my CPU(i5-2320). I replaced it with ivy bridge i7-3770S and now everything works just fine. At last! :)
So if you have the same problem with new gtx 1060/1050/1050Ti and your CPU is sandy bridge i5/i7, you have to try to replace it with ivy bridge i5/i7 then.
Good luck!

--
my new spec: x51 R1, i7-3770S, 8gb ram, 330w psu + D85RT pb, GTX 1060 Zotac, bios a14.
 

DNO

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
5
Question. I have the X51 R2. It came with the 760ti, I'm looking to upgrade it to the 1070 http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-1070/specifications. Only worry is that the 760ti length is 9.5 inches, where the 1070 is 10.5. Do you know if that will fit?
Yeap it fits !
Well you'll have to do some modifications but there's nothing that requires high skills ;)

Here you'll find a post were I gave some tips based on my own experience.
http://www.alienowners.com/threads/looking-forward-to-the-gtx-1070-1080.7213/page-10

Have fun !

Cheers
 

fieldgoal00

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2017
Messages
2
I have an Alienware X51 R1 , i7 3770 16GB ram with the 330W power supply and a GTX 600.

If I purchase the D85RT power board for the R2 version will I be able to run the NVIDIA 1080TI card on my system?
 

LukeUBN4IT

Member
Joined
May 28, 2016
Messages
43
I have an Alienware X51 R1 , i7 3770 16GB ram with the 330W power supply and a GTX 600.

If I purchase the D85RT power board for the R2 version will I be able to run the NVIDIA 1080TI card on my system?
Definitely will not be able to run the 1080TI as power draw is still too high for 330w but you may have success with 1070 FE or even maybe 1080 FE. I have the 1080 FE working in my x51 R3, but not sure what success people are having combining the 1080 with the R1 (upgraded power board) and R2. It has been noted that the new chipset and motherboard in the R3 is a little more energy efficient than R1 and R2.

In my opinion your safest bet is going no bigger than the 1070FE.
 

fieldgoal00

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2017
Messages
2
Definitely will not be able to run the 1080TI as power draw is still too high for 330w but you may have success with 1070 FE or even maybe 1080 FE. I have the 1080 FE working in my x51 R3, but not sure what success people are having combining the 1080 with the R1 (upgraded power board) and R2. It has been noted that the new chipset and motherboard in the R3 is a little more energy efficient than R1 and R2.

In my opinion your safest bet is going no bigger than the 1070FE.
Decided I'm gonna transition my Motherboard and other necessary internals into a new Corsair 740 case and then add a 700W power supply which can then handle the GTX 1080 card
 

evogg22

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
6
I upgraded to a 1050 GTX no problem in the R1 system. All you need is the A14 bios update.
 
Last edited:

RC_ED

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
10
Hey Guys I know this is an old thread, but it's been super helpful. I have a R1 spec is in image below. Im looking at a Gtx1060 6gb Card and have been looking at the evga gtx1060 6gb ive read here it works well. I believe its a mini Card, there is 2 versions normal and overclocked? I can also get the ASUS version for cheaper but its longer.. Ive added links for all 3. Which would be my best choice?
https://www.mwave.com.au/product/evga-geforce-gtx-1060-sc-gaming-6gb-video-card-ab84678
https://www.mwave.com.au/product/evga-geforce-gtx-1060-gaming-6gb-video-card-ab84679
https://www.mwave.com.au/product/asus-geforce-gtx-1060-turbo-6gb-video-card-ab84689

Thanks guys I like the look of the Asus, but not sure if it will fit. Any other cards you could suggest would be muchly appreciated.

UPDATE!!! I could not get the bios to update at all, im running win10 and have read you will need to reload win 7.
But not the case. I GOT IT WORKING!
I followed this post and it worked!
https://www.dell.com/community/Vostro/Vostro-460-XPS-8300-Upgrade-Adventures/m-p/6071757/highlight/false#M1311
Seems like when booting from flash drive the rufus dos flash does not include all the correct system info required.
Feel free to ask any questions I maybe able to help..
GTX 1060 6gb here we come!!
 
Last edited:

RC_ED

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
10
Sorry Guys Specs are:
Alienware x51 I7 3370 3.4ghz IVB 16g Ram GTX555 1gb Card 330w power supply
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
28
Sorry Guys Specs are:
Alienware x51 I7 3370 3.4ghz IVB 16g Ram GTX555 1gb Card 330w power supply
I have the r2 with the gtx nvidia 1060 6gb founders edition and works perfect. I don't know if is going to work with the r1 motherbase.
 
Top