test

X51 Looking for Graphics card upgrade.

ZaMaRaY

Hello everyone,
I am kinda new to the computer scene but I know a decent amount of stuff to get by these are my specs
Processor-Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, 3401 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
BIOS Version-Alienware A14
Power Supply-330 Watt
Graphics Card-NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 I think I have the 4GB I just bought a card on sale XD (On Direct X diagnostic tool my total memory on the card is 4095 MB)
So with that out of the way I have no idea what x51 I have I contacted support and support said that it's just an x51? I asked an R1? they replied an x51. I want to upgrade to a Asus Gefore RTX 2060 since it's a blower. I see the TDP is 160 watt so in my head I'm thinking it would work. My only concern is I see people upgrading the power board. So my question is 1-You guys think this x51 can handle the 2060 2-Do I need to upgrade power board 3-What type of x51 do I have. Thanks!

MattyB

Hello. You have the R1. It’s really an R1 version 2 as the original R1 was released with the i7 2600 processor.
I put a 1060 in mine and it works fine. You’ll definitely need the 330W power supply but beyond that I can’t say for certain how a 2060 will perform.

ZaMaRaY

Thanks for the response. So you don't know how it will perform but will it be able to handle the wattage is my question now you think the 330 watt will be able to handle the 2060?

MattyB

Yes the 330W should be fine. There is a long thread in the forum here discussing the 2070 in the X51. Lots of people have had success.

MURRARI

This is one of the most popular topics on this forum, just check back through the archives and you will see people’s results.

ZaMaRaY