X51 R3 Ram upgrade: What RAM is compatible?

SWAT_Glock

Administrator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,431

flowerdealer

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
17
Can't even get it to the BIOS with the RAM connected. It's set to AUTO though, and the only other options are 2400 and 2666. If I mix it with one of my 4gb 2133 DIMMS, it was able too boot, but only with one of them.
 

SWAT_Glock

Administrator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,431
Do you have the liquid cooler? I hoping there is enough space to fit those.
 

flowerdealer

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
17
try to check whether the RAM installed sit correctly.
Yes, tried 4 different dimms, one at a time, and non worked. I'm starting to think that this BIOS or motherboard might only be compatible with 2133 memory (which is the Dell specification). However, most RAM vendor sites do list the faster memory as compatible.
 

Dan.J

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
28
I bought my R3 with 16gb of 2133 from Dell, the stock rams will run @2400mhz at the stock 1.2V and will run at 2667mhz with 1.3V so running a higher mhz ram isnt a issue. My guess is that the memory you are trying needs some different ram timings which we can not change in the bios as of yet.
 

flowerdealer

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
17
Bought some new Crucial 2133 mhz memory sticks, the specification matches the Dell stock memory, so will try it today and see if it works.
 

Dan.J

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
28
Confirm, the Crucial 2133 do work as expected. Avoid other frequency memory dimms.
Good to hear its working. I personally don't think its really a frequency problem though I really think its just us not being able to change the ram timings in the bios to work with the given memory more then the speed at which it runs. As I said before I have my stock installed 16GB kit running at 2667mhz without issue running the stock timings.
 

Marty

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2015
Messages
28
Hey guys, what ram did you eventually settle on? I'm about to upgrade from 8 to 16 but it seems that there are real issues with compatible ram, even the crucial / Kingston compatible ram doesn't appear to fit or be compatible :-/

I'd like some good fast performing ram with heat sinks if they will fit under my water cooler, what did you guys go for?

Would this fit/work
https://www.amazon.co.uk/HyperX-16-...47544&sr=8-2&keywords=ddr4+2133+Kingston+2133
 

Marty

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2015
Messages
28
Does anyone have links to Amazon etc for actual ram that does indeed fit and work on the R3 Watercooled version?

I can order the one above and test it, but I'd rather just buy a working version.

Any help? :)
 

Marty

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2015
Messages
28
Just ordered my 3rd pack of ram for the R3 (16GB Kingston DDR2666)

I will post my results of all the ram tested (speed/stability/etc) as it seems that everybody else is keeping what ram is compatible a close guarded secret for some reason, the only links on this forum are to ram that DONT work and none that DO lol :)
 

Marty

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2015
Messages
28
Update:

Ok I've now tested 4 ram variations (all pnp)
I have tested the following:
Crucial 2667
Kingston 2400/2667
Corsair 2667

https://www.amazon.co.uk/HyperX-FUR...UTF8&qid=1464370665&sr=8-1&keywords=2666+ddr4

And they all work perfectly.
They fit perfectly
They are faster than the standard ram.

I'm sure the above info above was user error as they purchased ram with unsupported XMP profiles, what you want to buy is PnP and your good to go!

You need a low profile heatsink of course, but other than that, pretty much any branded pnp 2667 ram will work if you buy the correct ones.
 

KurtH

Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
17
Update:

Ok I've now tested 4 ram variations (all pnp)
I have tested the following:
Crucial 2667
Kingston 2400/2667
Corsair 2667

https://www.amazon.co.uk/HyperX-FUR...UTF8&qid=1464370665&sr=8-1&keywords=2666+ddr4

And they all work perfectly.
They fit perfectly
They are faster than the standard ram.

I'm sure the above info above was user error as they purchased ram with unsupported XMP profiles, what you want to buy is PnP and your good to go!

You need a low profile heatsink of course, but other than that, pretty much any branded pnp 2667 ram will work if you buy the correct ones.

Would 2x 16gb DDR4 work?
 

Marty

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2015
Messages
28
Interesting question, and the answer is YES & NO :D

Technically speaking the chipset, cpu can support 32gb but I have read that Dell nerfed the board to only support 16gb (but I don't know if that's true)

I only tested 8GB sticks as 2x16gb sticks is just overkill for me.
The best way to know for sure is to order the ram (but the 2x16gb version not the 2x8GB) test it and return it, as Amazon are awesome for returns)

That's how I tested all the ram modules :)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/HyperX-FUR...UTF8&qid=1464370665&sr=8-1&keywords=2666+ddr4

I don't think you would ever need 32gb of ram, unless you are doing some mental file sizes in Photoshop etc :D

With that said, the ram I posted is STONKING! Very fast, very reliable, running maxed out at 2667 is rock solid and it's highly recommended (and a good price too) :)
 
Top