test

X51 upgrade concerns!

RyanHooli

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
2
Hello, I have a standard X51 with a 330wPSU. I would like to know if I could upgrade to a EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB. If it is possible to not change anything else that would be great. Also, I have been watching http://www.youtube.com/user/Ray2kay6?feature=watch video's. He has done some amazing things. Also, I want to know if a GTX Titan fits into an X51 because i'd like to have that. If I do get the Titan would I need anymore cooling or anything like that? Thanks
 

AeonSoul

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
1,367
I am pretty sure that someone around here fit in there the GTX 670 FTW with the stock 330w PSU. Don't know about the Titan tho.
 

ejohnson

Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
242
670 will work just fine, the titan will not. Too much power needed, not enough cooling or space for it.

Stick with the 670
 

freshydeff

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
1
I will be answering your question today on my YouTube channel by placing a GTX titan in my Alienware x51.

Youtube freshydeff
 
Last edited:

tomcoleman

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
36
i have tried 2 cards 670 FTW 3GB and 660Ti 4GB both cause the system to reboot when settings are at max
 

RyanHooli

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
2
Maybe you have an underlying issue somewhere.

tappin from the Note II

Question, do you have an PSU upgrades on your X51?
If so do you have a YT video on how to do so and can u give me the link of ur graphics card?

Thanks
 

sway

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
676
Question, do you have an PSU upgrades on your X51?
If so do you have a YT video on how to do so and can u give me the link of ur graphics card?

Thanks

When my x51 was stock and I just had the 670ftw, I didn't have any other PSU except the 330w brick. My x51 now is torn apart pending a full mobo, PSU, & unlocked cpu upgrade. I stopped the project for now to build my current rig, but will go back to it eventually.

tappin from the Note II
 

mav711

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Messages
13
i have tried 2 cards 670 FTW 3GB and 660Ti 4GB both cause the system to reboot when settings are at max

Note more memory requires more power. You can use an APP like hwmonitor to see what your power draw. Or easier still use a "wattsup" device between your X51 and the wall to see how much power you are drawing when reboots occur.
 
Top