x51 Upgrade to 750 GTX 1gb = bios update required?

evogg22

i'm a noob so i'm not sure if this is relevant.
I've had this x51 R1 for almost 3 years now and wish to upgrade.
I've read this card runs well inside and everything, however..

My bios version is A03 but i've read you need A14 for the 750ti version.

Will i have to update my bios for 750 GTX?
If so can anyone guide me through the safest way because i don't want to 'brick' my motherboard from what i have heard.

ejohnson

You should be just fine with that card in your computer. The only thing you would need to update your bios for is if you wanted to upgrade your cpu from a sandy bridge to a ivy bridge.

I actually have that card in mine, runs great, but I got the acx version (twin fans) so I have to leave the sides off the case :(

Make sure you get the blower style (single fan)

evogg22

Ok, so i had a lot of errors. I installed the 750 GTX and it had error code 12.
I read that i needed to reset my bios to factory - (this was so dumb by me).
I ended up having to reset loads of crap until my PC worked, errors after errors occurred, like hdd failure and stuff.

I was able to resolve everything by switching boot mode to to UEFI.
Everything works again, like my 555GTX and my onboard card etc.
However, when i plug in my EVGA 750 GTX 1 GB.
I get 5 beeps.
I plug the hdmi to my mobo. Tomorrow when i get back i will try plugging the hdmi directly to the 750 Gtx.

I'm such a newbie and all this is so stressful :(

My questions -
What are the five quick beeps that constantly repeat? I read something like real time clock failure, but since my old card works, i'm not sure.
How can i resolve this?
I am also reading about disabling secure boot will work however i don't think that is what my problem is..
Many thanks for the helpers so far.

- - - - - Updated; Consecutive Post Auto Merged - - - - -

I ended up having to reset loads of crap until my PC worked, errors after errors occurred, like hdd failure and stuff.